top of page

Mason Chaney’s Patience Earns Him First Win of 2019

Abbottstown, Pa.: Mason Chaney started third behind pole-sitter Roscoe Clough and Bill Diehl.

Clough and Diehl drag raced for the lead at the start of the race with Diehl, a two-time feature winner in 2019, leading lap 1. Chaney made easy work of Clough for second and was all over Diehl for the lead.

The caution came out on lap 4 for Rick Hartwig in turn 3. Hartwig rejoined the field.

Chaney tried to get around Diehl on the outside of turns 1 and 2 on the restart but Diehl held onto the lead. Chaney was literally on Diehl’s bumper as they ran the same line around the track.

While Chaney was on Diehl’s bumper, Travis Perry had made his way to third on lap 7 and Jeremy Ott was running fourth on lap 8.

Chaney was still running with Diehl when the caution came out on lap 12 for fluid on the track. The red flag came out for the track crew to lay down quick-dry as the car had made at least two laps while dropping fluid.

Chaney made his move on the restart and took the lead from Diehl going down the backstretch.

Ott was up to third on the restart and got by Diehl for second on lap 14.

After falling back to fourth on the restart, Perry was back up to third with 5 laps to go.

Ott made one last effort to get by Chaney for the lead in turns 3 and 4 as they raced to the checkered flag, but Chaney beat him to the line by .225 seconds for the win. Perry held onto third. Travis McClelland finished fourth and Alex Schmiedel crossed the line fifth.

Central PA Legends heat winners were Jeremy Ott, Bill Diehl, Travis McClelland and Chris Transeau. The two Legends Consy races were won by Tim O’Sheehan and Austin Bellemare.


Central PA Legends Feature (20 Laps) – 1. 8CR-Mason Chaney ($300); 2. 10-Jeremy Ott; 3. 19-Travis Perry; 4. 51-Travis McClelland; 5. 95-Alex Schmiedel; 6. 53-Bill Diehl; 7. 58Z-Zachary Settle; 8. 5-Scott Houdeshell; 9. 18J-Jorjie Sweger; 10. 8-Austin Bellemare; 11. 18-Chris Transeau; 12. 77A-Aaron Updegraff; 13. 20-Roscoe Clough; 14. 00-Tim O’Sheehan; 15. 30K-Seth Kearchner; 16. 9X-Justin Cunningham; 17. 79-Ed Trump; 18. 14W-Stephen Wurtzer; 19. 9-Rick Hartwig (DNF); 20. Chandler Pagnotta (DNF); 21. 18H-Jeremy Hahn (DNF); 22. 78-Zach Smith (DNF); 23. 0-Blaine Leppo (DNF); 24. 5C-Josh Schrum (DNF).

Lap Leaders – Bill Diehl (1-12) & Mason Chaney (13-20)

Central PA Legends Heat One Finish (8 laps) - 1. 10-Jeremey Ott; 2. 75-Chandler Pagnotta; 3. 19- Travis Perry; 4. 58Z-Zachary Settle; 5. 93-Brent Marquis; 6. 31-Travis Beck; 7. 79-Ed Trump; 8. 99-Eric Hurst; 9. 4-Eli Dodge; 10. 39-Bonnie Lee; 11. 34-Dan Harrison (DNF); 12. 30K-Seth Kearchner (DNF).

Central PA Legends Heat Two Finish (8 laps) - 1. 53-Bill Diehl; 2. 5C-Josh Schrum; 3. 18J-Jorjie Sweger; 4. 77A-Aaron Updegraff; 5. 00-Tim O’Sheehan; 6. 30-Alex Robinson; 7. 9-Rick Hartwig; 8. 26-Shawn Abney; 9. 61-Shaun Miller; 10. 1-Eugene Drew; 11. 83J-James Snow; 12. 85-Mike Goldsmith.

Central PA Legends Heat Three Finish (8 laps) - 1. 51-Travis McClelland; 2. 8CR-Mason Chaney; 3. 5-Scott Houdeshell; 4. 18-Jeremy Hahn; 5. 8-Austin Bellamare; 6. 14-Stephen Wurtzer; 7. 9-Justin Cunningham; 8. 91-Ben Goldsmith; 9. 17-Cory Phillips; 10. 23-Bob Fink; 11. 00-DJ Elzey; 12. 19L-Jonathan Robinson.

Central PA Legends Heat Four Finish (8 laps) - 1. 18-Chris Transeau; 2. 95-Alex Schmiedel; 3. 20-Roscoe Clough; 4. 0-Blaine Leppo; 5. 78-Zac Smith; 6. 42-Scott Lee; 7. 43-Brandon Reiblich; 8. 71-Ron Dick; 9. 17-Brad Weber; 10. 13-Ron Blizzard; 11. 41-Chuck Dell; 12. FOUR-Eric Richards; 13. 2-Scott Smith (DNF).

Central PA Legends Consy #1 (8 laps) - 1. 00-Tim O’Sheehan; 2. 9-Rick Hartwig; 3. 30K-Seth Kearchner; 4. 79-Ed Trump; 5. 30-Alex Robinson; 6. 61-Shaun Miller; 7. 85-Mike Goldsmith; 8. 39-Bonnie Lee; 9. 31-Travis Beck (DNF); 10. 93-Brent Marquis (DNF); 11. 99-Eric Hurst (DNF); 12. 26-Shaun Abney (DNF); 13. 4-Eli Dodge (DNF); 14. 1-Eugene Drew (DNF); 15. 34-Dan Harrison (DNF); 16. 83J-James Snow (DNF)

Central PA Legends Consy #2 (8 laps) - 1. 8-Austin Bellemare; 2. 78-Zac Smith; 3. 9-Justin Cunningham; 4. 14-Stephen Wurtzer; 5. 2-Scott Smith; 6. 41-Chuck Dell; 7. 17-Brad Weber; 8. 00-DJ Elzey; 9. 43-Brandon Reiblich; 10. 42-Scott Lee; 11. 91-Ben Goldsmith; 12. 71-Ron Dick; 13. 17-Cory Phillips; 14. 13-Ron Blizzard; 15. 19L-Jonathan Robinson; 16. 23-Bob Fink; 17. FOUR-Eric Richards (DNS)

bottom of page